Chile strengthening international tax co-operation, OECD says


24/10/2013 - OECD Secretary-General Angel Gurría welcomed today Chile’s recent steps to strengthen international tax co-operation.


Chile’s Finance Minister Felipe Larraín signed the Multilateral Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters, at a ceremony in Santiago. Mr Gurría applauded the country’s recent steps to boost information-sharing arrangements. This includes both Chile’s decision to become the 59th signatory to the Convention, as well as the August announcement that it would engage in automatic exchange of information for tax purposes with Colombia, Mexico and Peru, in the context of the Pacific Alliance.


“Today’s signing is very timely, given the recent political focus on tax matters, and in particular the high level of support for automatic exchange of information at the international level,” Mr Gurría said. “The G20 has declared automatic exchange of information as the new global standard, and have asked the OECD to work on developing it. Chile’s decision to sign this Convention, while implementing automatic exchange of information with partners Colombia, Mexico and Peru, helps move the agenda forward.” (Read the speech)


The Multilateral Convention provides for all forms of mutual assistance: exchange on request, spontaneous exchange, tax examinations abroad, simultaneous tax examinations and assistance in tax collection, while protecting taxpayers’ rights. It provides the option to undertake automatic exchange, while requiring an agreement between the Parties interested in this form of assistance.


To enter into force, the Convention must now be ratified by the Chilean Congress.


Mr Gurría encouraged the country to continue moving forward. “Increasing international co-operation will reinforce Chile’s ability to fight tax avoidance and evasion,” he said. “Chile has much to gain by co-operating with the growing number of countries signing the Convention. The only losers will be tax evaders who find they have fewer and fewer places to hide.”


The 59 signatories to the Convention are: Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, and United States.


The following jurisdictions are also covered by the Convention through territorial extension by Denmark: the Faroe Islands and Greenland; by territorial extension by the Netherlands: Aruba, Curaçao and Sint Maarten; and by territorial extension by the United Kingdom: the Cayman Islands, Montserrat and Turks and Caicos.


For more information, journalists should contact Pascal Saint-Amans, Director of the OECD’s Centre for Tax Policy and Administration (CTPA) on + 33 6 26 30 49 23 or Grace Perez-Navarro, Deputy Director of the CTPA on +33 1 45 24 18 80.


Related Documents


21点点数一样怎么算 宝贝财神 20选5带坐标走势 吉林快3 新疆35选7|走势 股票融资平台_杨方配资平台 龙江福彩22选5 山东十一选五的走势 浙江快乐彩走势 黑龙江11选5 3d独胆王独胆预测专 黑龙江十一选五* p62今日开奖号 浙江快乐12 杠杆配资 重庆幸运农场开奖查 宝石奥德赛