Share

> versión en español

Virtual Ministerial Summit on Social Inclusion: Informality and Inclusion in the times of COVID-19

This year’s Ministerial will bring together ministers and high-level officials in the fields of labour, planning, economy and social development to engage in a frank discussion on how the COVID-19 crisis will affect the social inclusion agenda in Latin American and Caribbean. It aims to provide opportunities to identify and envisage ways to transition to formality and resume job creation, and advance the much-needed creation of consensus on the socio-economic reforms to be implemented in the aftermath of the COVID-19 crisis.

The Ministerial Summit will be chaired and hosted by the Government of the Dominican Republic.

 13, 15, 16 and 17 July 2020        Virtually 

  • Public sessions
13 July (webcast)
  • Ministerial sessions
15, 16 and 17 July (by invitation only)
  • LACRP Steering Group
17 July (by invitation only)

Agenda

Public sessions

These sessions will be transmitted to a wide audience through a virtual platform.

Opening high-level dialogue: Informality and Social Inclusion in the times of COVID-19

Monday, 13 July

16:00-17:00 hrs CET

10:00-11:00 hrs EST

9:00-10:00 hrs CST     

Introduction and moderation: Angel Gurría, Secretary-General of the OECD

  • Danilo Medina, President of the Dominican Republic
  • Marcelo Ebrard, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Mexico*
  • Walter Braga Netto, Minister Chief of Staff of the Presidency, Casa Civil, Brazil*

 

17:00-18:30 hrs CET

11:00-12:30 hrs EST

10:00-11:30 hrs CST

 

From an impending issue to an emergency: the imperative need for a new and more inclusive social pact in Latin America and the Caribbean

Moderation: Gabriela Ramos, OECD Chief of Staff and Sherpa to the G20

Panelists:

  • Miguel Vargas, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dominican Republic
  • Alicia Bárcena, Executive Secretary of ECLAC*
  • Hernando de Soto, President of the Institute for Liberty and Democracy*
  • Ignacio Briones, Minister of Finance of Chile*

 

Ministerial sessions

Participation in the Ministerial sessions is limited to invited authorities and international organisations. 

15:40 - 16:00 hrs CET

9:40 - 10:00 hrs EST

8:40 - 9:00 hrs CST

 Welcoming remarks - Wednesday 15 July

  • Miguel Vargas, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dominican Republic
  • Andreas Schaal, OECD Director for Global Relations 

 

 

 

16:00 - 18:00 hrs CET

10:00 -12:00 hrs EST

9:00 - 11:00 hrs CST

 


Ministerial Session 1 – Wednesday, 15 July

Ministries of Labour / Social Development 

Informality during and beyond COVID-19: good practices and the imperative of universal safety nets

 

Chair: Nelson Toca, Minister of Industry, Trade and SMEs, Dominican Republic*

Moderator: Mario Pezzini, Director of the OECD Development Centre

 

Lead speakers:

  • Representative from an international organisation
  • Minister
  • Minister

Discussion 

 

 

16:0 - 18:00 hrs CET

10:00 - 12:00 hrs EST

9:00 - 11:00 hrs CST

 


Ministerial Session 2 – Thursday 16 July

Ministries of Labour

Resuming employment growth with better opportunities for vulnerable groups (women, migrants, indigenous groups and youth) 

 

Chair: Winston Santos, Minister of Labour / Jeanette Camilo, Minister of Women, Dominican Republic*

Moderator: Stefano Scarpetta, Director of the Employment, Labour and Social Affairs Directorate, OECD

 

Lead speakers:

  • Vinicius Pinheiro, 
  • Minister
  • Minister

 

Discussion 

 

 

15:00-17:00 hrs CET

9:00-11:00 hrs EST

8:00-10:00 hrs CST

 Ministerial Session 3 - Friday, 17 July

Ministers of Planning and/or Social Development & Centres of Government

 

Inclusive social dialogue and citizen engagement to enhance social cohesion and ownership of recovery measures

 

Chair: Minister, Dominican Republic

 

Moderator: Andreas Schaal, OECD Director for Global Relations

 

  • Representative from an international organisation
  • Minister
  • Minister

 

 

Discussion

17:00 - 17:20 hrs CET

11:00 - 11:20 hrs EST

10:00 - 10:20 hrs CST

Concluding remarks

  • Juan Ariel Jimenez, Minister of Economy and Development, Dominican Republic Minister*

  • Mario Pezzini, OECD Director OECD Development Centre

 
 
 * to be confirmed

LAC Regional Programme Steering Group Meeting

The Steering Group Meeting is limited to invited member country delegations and international organisations

 

17:30 – 19:30 hrs CET

11:30 – 13:30 hrs EST

10:30 – 12:30 hrs CS                                                                                                        

Friday, 17 July

This virtual meeting of the Steering Group will serve to discuss how the LACRP can foster synergies and mobilise action for the region to address the issues of social inclusion and informality. The key outcomes of the week’s virtual Social Inclusion Summit will be presented. Delegates will be invited to offer strategic guidance on 1) implementation efforts thus far on the priorities of the Programmatic Document 2019-2022; and 2) proposals for adjustments and new projects building on the outcomes of this Summit, especially in light of the COVID-19 global crisis.  

Welcoming Remarks and Conclusions from the Second Ministerial Summit

  • Co-Chairs of the LAC Regional Programme (Mexico and Brazil)

Time for inclusiveness: mobilising the OECD LAC Regional Programme

  • Andreas Schaal, Director of Global Relations, OECD

  • Mario Pezzini, Director of the OECD Development Centre

Discussion amongst Delegations

Concluding Remarks: Miguel Vargas, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dominican Republic

Speakers

Angel Gurría, OECD

Secretary-General

Read the bio ENG | ESP 

@A_Gurria 

Danilo Medina Sánchez, Dominican Republic

President

Read the bio ENG | ESP

@DaniloMedina

 

 

Background documents

Briefings

  • Download (forthcoming)

 

Conclusions

  • Download section 1 (forthcoming)
  • Download section 2 (forthcoming)

Registration

‌Attendance to the private section of the Ministerial is by invitation only.

*Information to participate in the public section of the Ministerial will become available in the following weeks.

Practical information

  • Virtually connect to the meeting (forthcoming)
  • Download the agenda (forthcoming)

Organisers

21点点数一样怎么算 广东11选5免费人 快乐十分走势图云南 幸运3D开奖结果走势图 pk10牛牛 六合秒秒官方网站 澳洲幸运5开奖专用网站 河北十一选五登录 河南22选5哪个台开奖 吉林十一选五遗漏查询 海南4+1开奖综合走势图 22选5河南最新开奖大河 辽宁福彩35选7好运4 重庆快乐10分人工计划 一分钟赛车怎么玩 猴子基诺 福彩30选5奖金多少