OECD countries invite Costa Rica to join as 38th member


15/05/2020 - OECD countries unanimously decided today to invite Costa Rica to become a member of the Organisation. Costa Rican President Carlos Alvarado Quesada and OECD Secretary-General Angel Gurría will sign an Accession Agreement in the coming days.

Costa Rica’s accession, extending the OECD’s membership to 38 countries, will take effect after the country has taken the appropriate steps at the national level to accede to the OECD Convention, and deposited its instrument of accession with the French government, the depository of the Convention.  

“We are delighted to welcome Costa Rica into the OECD family at a time when multilateralism is more important than ever. The best way to address today’s global challenges is by having emerging, developing and advanced economies working side by side on solutions,” said OECD Secretary-General Angel Gurría.

As part of its accession process, Costa Rica successfully completed in-depth technical reviews by 22 OECD Committees and has carried out important reforms that have allowed the country to align its legislation, policies and practices to OECD standards in areas such as competition, statistics, anti-bribery, corporate governance of state-owned enterprises, financial markets, tax transparency and industrial chemicals management.

“OECD membership has been a personal objective of the President and his government.  We have been encouraged to see real cross-party commitment to the process and impressed by the engagement and reactivity of the Legislative Assembly, which enacted over a dozen laws including a comprehensive reform of competition policy and enforcement and fundamental reform of the national statistics system, as a direct result of OECD recommendations,” Mr Gurría added.

The OECD’s governing Council of member countries invited Costa Rica to open accession talks in April 2015. Costa Rica will become the Organisation’s fourth member country from the Latin America and Caribbean region, joining Mexico, Chile and Colombia.

For further information journalists are invited to contact the OECD's Media division (+ 33 1 4524 9700).


OECD and Costa Rica:

OECD press releases on Costa Rica:

OECD accession procedures:


Note to Editors:

The Paris-based Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that promotes policies to improve the economic and social well-being of people worldwide. It provides a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to the economic, social and governance challenges they face.

The OECD’s 37 members are: Austria, Australia, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Working with over 100 countries, the OECD is a global policy forum that promotes policies to improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.


Related Documents


21点点数一样怎么算 今日股市行情大盘走势 山东11选5开奖结果 湖北30选5最近100期奖结果 五粮液股票行情 j江西时时彩走势图 海南体彩4 1论坛 新上市股票几天才能买 排列七开奖结果 海南4+1app 新浪模拟炒股平台 时时彩平台最新版下载 东方6+1开奖规则 京东方A股票走势 百家乐网页游戏 2020体育彩票开奖结果 江西快3购买